Daily Archives: June 30, 2009

Two new books about public housing in Chicago

Tyrone Galtney's new book about public housing in Chicago is one of one on the subject that I'm raring to read.

Tyrone Galtney's new book about public housing in Chicago is one of one on the subject that I'm raring to read.

I rarely do this, but am so excited about these two books about public housing in Chicago that I am going to give a brief description of them before having read the work.  

Tyrone Galtney’s The “No-Way Out” Syndrome Robert Taylor Homes Coup de tat’ is an insider’s look at life inside the largest and one of the most notorious homes in the Chicago Housing Authority. 

D. Bradford Hunt’s Blueprint for Disaster: The Unraveling of Chicago Public Housing is a scholarly account that challenges traditional interpretations that emphasize racism and poverty and look also at historical federal policies. 

I’ll write more after reading the books, and both promise to reward the reader.