Sources of Joy: My Burgeoning Yoga Practice

Life is pretty hectic these days.

Between our new website and learning html and all that’s going on with Dart and planning to go to Germany with Dad and other family members and … and  … and …  you get the idea.

At moments, I’m reminded of what then-surgical resident Ralph Warren, scion of one of Mass. General’s most prestigious families-he was a descendant of the Warren building Warrens-said when I asked him if he liked what he was doing when he was about to perform open heart surgery.

“Groucho Marx once said, ‘I like my cigar, too, but I like to take it out of my mouth once in a while.”

That said, I feel fortunate to have, at long last, followed through on a New Year’s resolution and started attending yoga classes two times per week.

One of the classes meets at 6:00 a.m. Tuesdays and Thursdays, the other on Saturday afternoon.

Along with the other students, we grab our mats-some people bring theirs-our purple blocks and straps, and do the cobra, cat, table, plank, downward dog and a series of new poses that I learn with each class.

Although it often is quite difficult and I have a LONG way to go  to join the like of Brittany Smith, I have to say I’m having a wonderful time.

The moves are becoming more familiar, my lower back is feeling less painful and I’m generally feeling looser and even a bit taller.

Beyond that, during the hour while I’m in the class and for a certain amount of time afterward, I feel my mental clutter fall away as I return to myself.

I’ve meditated for years-Dunreith says what I do is often more accurately called “sleepitation”-and the classes are giving me a different, more physical feeling.

It’s a strange moment when you realize that you’ve arrived at a place in the middle of your life doing and talking about and paying attention to things that previously seemed the domain of impossibly old people.

Now that I’m here, though, I’m delighted to be creating and moving into the space of strengthening my core and increasing my physical flexibility.

There’s a special joy in that peace and in the following through on a long-held, but only recently delivered commitment to myself.

Right now, it’s time to go to bed.

The next class is in eight hours, and I want to make sure I have enough time to shower before it starts.

Leave a Reply

