RIP, Geraldine Ferraro

Geraldine Ferraro died yesterday at age 75.

Trailblazing vice presidential candidate Geraldine Ferraro died yesterday at age 75 after a lengthy battle with cancer.

I remember vividly the Time Magazine cover showing the two-term congresswoman from New York who Walter Mondale, before losing by an historic margin, selected her to be his running mate.

I met her once,  at the Villa Il Salviatino in Florence, where I studied my sophomore year at Stanford.  She spoke to us and answered our questions.

I asked one of them.

I don’t remember the exact words, but I do believe I asked her about how she kept things going with her family while she was working so hard campaigning. She smiled that I mentioned talking with my mother, and, afterward, when I went up to shake her hand, told me she was glad that I did so.

It’s more than a quarter century later, and, though Hillary Clinton and Sarah Palin came close in 2008, a woman still has not won either of the top two spots.

But the former prosecutor nudged open the door for those two and all other women, including Tea Party darling Michele Bachmann, who is making noises about a presidential run, are the beneficiaries of her actions.

We wish her family peace and calm during this painful time.

Leave a Reply

