Dunreith’s Picks #1: David Grossman’s To the End of the Land

David Grossman's novel To the End of the Land is the first in a new section of the blog called "Dunreith's Picks."

On Valentine’s Day, I am introducing a new section to the blog: Dunreith’s Picks.

This will include Dunreith’s recommendations about the novels she is reading and endorses for us to read.

I am starting this part of the blog both because it gives me a chance to brag about one of my wife’s many talents and positive qualities, and because, simply put, Dunreith’s got great taste in novels.

She’s been a voracious reader her entire life.  I used to half-joke that it took about three years for me to ask her if she had read a book and receive the answer, “No.”

At her recommendation, I just finished Chimamanda Adichie’s Half of a Yellow Sun, which I enjoyed tremendously.  Before that, I have relished reading Aleksandar Hemon’s The Lazarus Project, among other works.

Last night, she finished Israeli author David Grossman’s To the End of the Land and said I should read it.

I will do so.

The dust jacket says that the novel tells the story of an Israeli mother who takes an excursion with a former lover to avoid hearing any news from the front, where her son has been sent.

Dunreith said the work is dense and filled with pain.  I’ll keep you posted as I make my way through it.

What are your picks?  What have you been reading and enjoying recently?

Leave a Reply

