Halfway through Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Half of a Yellow Sun.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Half of a Yellow Sun is wildly entertaining.

Like many of you, good things happen to me when I listen to my wife.

Dunreith has many, many fine qualities, not the least of which is her taste in literature.

While I tilt heavily toward nonfiction, she gravitates toward novels, a category of book she has read voraciously since her childhood.   This body of experience contributes to her judgment about quality.

I will admit that it takes me a while to heed her recommendations, and, when I do, I am rarely disappointed.

She endorsed The Warmth of Other Suns, which I ripped through last week and absolutely loved.  And the latest of her picks that I am reading is Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Half of a Yellow Sun.

I’m just about halfway through the novel and having a terrific time.

Set in 1960s southeast Nigeria, the book takes the reader through the period before, during, and, I imagine, after the secession of Biafra that Warren Zevon sang about memorably in Roland the Headless Thompson Gunner.

Adichie has created a rich array of appealing and flawed characters, lush descriptions of the world in which they live, and an unblinking look at the pain they endure due to the larger social conflicts and that they inflict on each other at times due to their actions.

Half of a Yellow Sun is filled with politics, human interaction, love, betrayal and simultaneous moments of exquisite connection and aching pain.

I don’t want to write too much more, as the twists and turns do make a real difference in this work, and  I will say indubitably that I hope you read it.

I’ll keep you posted, too, on Dunreith’s latest reading tips. She seems to be getting a lot out of a David Grossman novel, so that could be next for me.

What are you reading and enjoying these days?

Leave a Reply

