10th Anniversary as a Husband and Father!!!

So today makes 10 years since Dunreith and I eloped with Aidan and the three of us became a family.

It was a heady time.

On Friday, September 1, 2000 I worked my last day at Facing History and Ourselves, leaving a 13-year career as an educator, packed up my white Honda Civic and drove out to Western Massachusetts.

On Monday, September 4, we told Aidan about our plans, drove to Look Park in Northampton, and met the Justice of the Peace who was conducting the ceremony we had written ourselves.

Aidan picked the spot where we would wed: it was right near a tree with three branches that came together at the base.

The three of us held hands in a circle.

The ceremony began.

I don’t remember everything we said and did, and we somehow did not think to bring a camera.

But I do remember that we combined formal readings with time for Dunreith and me to talk to Aidan and each other from the heart about what we meant to each other.

I do remember the three of us cheering, “Dunreith/Aidan/Jeff/Together/Forever/Cha cha cha” at the end.

I do remember Aidan going frog hunting.

I do remember the gold ring we had bought from Costco fitting too loosely on my ring finger.

And I do remember a delicious and exhilarating feeling washing over me, feeling unsure about what was ahead, but settled about my choice to become Dunreith’s husband and Aidan’s father.

Ten years later, I feel even more so that way, my knowledge leavened by a decade of lived experience.

Don’t get me wrong.

We all have struggles-with ourselves, with each other and with the family-from time to time.  We have periods of tension.

That’s real and normal, and I would even venture, healthy.

But we also have the knowledge that we are there for each other.

We also have the history of having shown up, tried hard and loved each other for the past 10 years.

We have thousands of wonderful memories of moments big and small.

In short, we have each other.

So, even though it was quite a jolt to the system to move, give up my career, and become a husband and father in the space of three days-I guess it’s fitting that it was over Labor Day since each of these decisions has subsequently entailed an awful lot of work-I am grateful and humbled for the decision we made to become a family that day, and the thousands of decisions we have made since them.

14 responses to “10th Anniversary as a Husband and Father!!!

  1. Happy 10th Anniversary! What a great blog post!

    • jeffkellylowenstein3

      Thanks, Lannae! Hope you are well. I mentioned the scholarship you administer to Aidan, and he sounded interested in it. I’ll keep you posted.

      Jeff

  2. Yet again you have brought tears to my eyes with your beautiful writing and tender soul.

    My love to all,
    Ginna

  3. Thank you for sharing Jeff, this was beautiful!

  4. Hey JKL, happy anniversary! Our’s was Sept. 5 (6 years). Send me an email, my friend.

  5. Jeanne Theresa Newman

    Beautiful, Jeff. Just beautiful.

    • jeffkellylowenstein3

      Thanks, Jeanne. I hope you are doing well these days.

      Please let me know what you’re up to when you have a chance.

      Jeff

  6. Congratulations Jeff, Dunreith and Aidan!
    Having just got back from my Boston vaca, which included a drive thru Western Mass (Rt 2, etc.) up to Okemo mountain in VT, I can imagine your marriage vows surrounded by stunning beauty. And having merged families myself 23 years ago this upcoming weekend, I suggest you hang onto your hats (and each other), as the journey may only have just begun!
    And did I see a flash of a ray banded blogger and his bride biking by Calvary cemetery last night? 🙂
    L’Shana Tova!
    jack

    • jeffkellylowenstein3

      Thanks, my man, as always, for the good wishes and good words.

      We were biking by the cemetery last night, but I’m not in the Ray Bans class of sunglasses! 🙂

      Congratulations to you and yours on your upcoming anniversary, too.

      Happy New Year, and let’s get together soon.

      Jeff

  7. Sandra Hollingsworth

    Jeff,
    Congratulations on 10 years of blessings w/Dunreith & Aidan. I’m not surprised that the 3 of you eloped and found a beautiful location to create the love you each have for one another. And because of the love you have for one another it shows with the friends that you have. My babies and I are so blessed and humbled to have the 3 of you in our lives.
    Here’s to 10 more years!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sandra, Ja’Net, Giovonni, & Jentel

Leave a Reply

