More Katrina Resources by Beth, Murder by Type blogger

Reader and blogger Beth posted the following comment about Dave Eggers’ Zeitoun and offered the following resources about Katrina:

I posted a review of ZEITOUN on my blog, Murder By Type. I knew people who lived in New Orleans at the time of Katrina and I don’t know where they are now.

As an acknowledgement of the fifth anniversay of Katrina, I used the blog (which is actually a place where I post reviews of crime fiction) to highlight some stories of the Katrina experience for the people of New Orleans.

Friday I used information from Chris Rose’s collection of columns for the Times-Picayune, 1DEAD IN ATTIC. Saturday, I focused on Orleans Parish coroner, Frank Milyard, and his experiences and the difficulty he faced in identifying the bodies of people who had died and were left where they lay.
Tomorrow, Sunday, the anniversary of the breach of the levees, I posted a review of ZEITOUN by Dave Eggers.

Beth
http://www.murderbytype.wordpress.com

2 responses to “More Katrina Resources by Beth, Murder by Type blogger

  1. Thank you, Jeff, for mentioning my blog and the Katrina articles. As I mentioned, the blog was started to review mystery, thriller, and suspense books and a bit of non-fiction thrown in.

    The fifth anniversay of Katrina was something that I needed to address. The media points out that New Orleans is back. They fail to mention that New Orleans is now a city of people who have money, the only people who could afford to return and rebuild. There were many things wrong with New Orleans before Katrina, the murder rate was the highest in the country, but it was home to the poor far more than it was home to the rich, and these people have lost their connection to the city that shaped them.

    Thank you again.

    Beth
    http://www.murderbytype.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

