Hanging at Beth Israel with Mom, Robin Cook’s Coma.

So I’ve been spending at least 10 hours a day at Beth Israel’s cardiac unit the past three days with Mom, who seems to be making steady progress since arriving here on Monday.

She’ll likely have a procedure on Monday, and, all things working out, will either go home or to some in-patient rehabilitation facility nearby.

The days have held much learning for me.

To begin, I’ve learned about the at times mind numblingly slow pace of the medical system grinding forward.

I’ve learned anew about the new for constant and repeated advocacy.

And, perhaps most important of all, I’ve learned that a high school classmate and former cheerleading captain has worked here as a nurse for the past 23 years. 

All joking aside, Mom’s experience has given me deeper appreciation into life’s fragility, gratitude for the many gifts we have and continue to receive, and some insight into how privileged she is both to have some of the top medical people in the world caring for her. 

Even with that, the outcome is uncertain, communication gaps are rampant and mistakes do happen.

This may not quite the right to write about the book I am about to discuss, and being here in a Boston hospital-my birthplace, to be precise-has reminded me about Robin Cook’s Coma.

Cook’s novel about medical student Susan Wheeler’s gradually deepening investigation into the ominously high number of coma patients at a Boston hospital became the inspiration for an early Michael Crichton film and was named the top thriller of the year.

All creepiness aside, Cook’s book is definitely worth the time.

2 responses to “Hanging at Beth Israel with Mom, Robin Cook’s Coma.

  1. Sorry to hear this news about your Mom Jeff. And as I recall, she is also a Boston sports fan, so I hope you shielded her from the trio of losses last night.

    My prayers are with you and your family,

    jack

    • jeffkellylowenstein3

      Thanks, Jack, for your kind words of support. They mean a lot to me and to us.

      Hope all is well with you.

      Jeff

Leave a Reply

