Chicago Marathon Plans, Haruki Murakami and Bernd Heinrich’s books.

I plan to be among the ranks of this year's Chicago Marathon runners.

On Sunday, October 10, 2010, about 45,000 people will run the Chicago Marathon.

I intend to be one of them.

I’ve run two Boston Marathons before-the first in 1988 and the second in 1999.

I was 22 years old the first time and turned 33 before running the second one.

I turned 44 in October, so am lacing up my sneakers one more time and see if my body will be up to the test.

I’ve created personal motivation in training for the past two marathons.  The first one I dedicated to Dr. Henry D’Angelo, the father of my best friend in high school who died of cancer just two weeks before the race.   In 1999, I ran Boston as a fundraiser in honor of Paul Tamburello, my former fourth grade teacher, mentor and friend who had contracted Spinal Muscular Atrophy, a non-fatal variation of Lou Gehrig’s Disease.

This time I plan to do a joint fundraiser for the two organizations on whose boards I sit: Kuumba Lynx and The Dart Society.

I feel a bit strange announcing my intentions this far in advance-in the past, I’ve waited until I get closer to the time-and I have identified this as one of my year’s goals.

My plan is to build my capacity slowly and, like in 1999, to run just two or three times per week-a shorter run or two during the week, and increasingly longer runs on Saturday.

That method worked well for me to stay fresh and injury free the last time, and I’m optimistic that it will work this time, too.

I’m trying to tell myself that I won’t care about my time, and I’d be less than honest if I said the thought won’t enter my mind.

For now, though, I’m glad to have had my first indoors workout and am looking forward to heading to the Y for some laps later today.

I’ve read a couple of other running-oriented books that others might find interesting.

Japanese novelist Haruki Murakami tells his running journey, its impact on his writing and his annual marathon quests in What I Talk About When I Talk About Running.  The celebrated author has run at least one marathon a year for the past century, and takes the reader through his preparations in this enjoyable book.

Ultramarathoner and biologist Bernd Heinrich talks about nature, evolution and his running odyssey in Why We Run.  This book is a fascinating fusion of the different fields and well worth reading, too.

3 responses to “Chicago Marathon Plans, Haruki Murakami and Bernd Heinrich’s books.

  1. Marathon number three–good luck! But where will the time come from? Can you run and read at the same time? Is there a new technology kindle-headset that you can utilize? Or will you stoop (but can you do this physical action while running?) to books on tape? No, probably you will manage the energy–it’s not the time–as one of your posts described a book as advising. I’ll be happy to contribute.

    • jeffkellylowenstein3

      Thanks, Dave. I’m optimistic that my body will hold up and that training will not be too timeconsuming. I love books on tape and don’t know if I’ll use them while running.

      Hope all is well with you. Let’s catch up soon.

      Love from our family to yours.

      Jeff

  2. Pingback: Melinda Hinson Neely – Finding Life's Secret Sauce – Who is Running Next to You?

Leave a Reply

