Roxane Assaf’s Guide to Israel and the Palestinian Territories

Friend Roxane Assaf has co-authored a guidebook about Israel and the Palestinian Territories that I plan to use for future trips.

Friend and Medill classmate Roxane Assaf asked me today if I had used the Lonely Planet guidebook she had c0-authored about Israel and the Palestinian Territories during our recent trip.

We did not, and it’s too bad for a number of reasons.  First, I like whenever possible to support friends and classmates’ work.  Second, I generally like the Lonely Planet series.  And third, it’s yet another example of Assaf’s remarkable versatility.

Roxane and I were easily the oldest graduate students at Medill during our year there, and she has used her time on the planet well.  The New Orleans native and former Middle East correspondent for The Washington Report is also a playwright, does work at the City Colleges of Chicago and the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and a singer.  She has won multiple national awards for her work.

Assaf has written widely on the Middle East, and, more recently, on how powerless and oppressed people around the globe are using technology to bring about social change.

Today I’ve learned about her Lonely Planet contribution.

The good news is that our trip has left me hungry to learn more and to return to Israel as well as to spend time in the territories.

I know which book I’ll be using to prepare for those trips.

2 responses to “Roxane Assaf’s Guide to Israel and the Palestinian Territories

  1. True. EASILY the oldest at Medill. (And I had you beat by a few!) Rx

    • jeffkellylowenstein3

      You may have had me beat by a few, but you didn’t look like it! 🙂

      Thanks for the comments. I’ll make sure to adjust the post accordingly.

      Jeff

Leave a Reply

