Reading Wrap Up Before Heading to Kuumba Lynx Fundraiser

I'm heading to Kuumba Lynx after giving snippets about my recent reading.

Today got away from me a little bit, and I’m heading shortly to the annual fundraise for Kuumba Lynx, the hip-hop youth organization on whose board I serve.

I have been doing a decent amount of reading this week.  I will go into more depth on some of these in the future, and here are the thumbnail sketches for the three most recent.

Manhood for Amateurs and Gentlemen of the Road, by Michael Chabon.

These are the first two books I’ve read by Chabon, who is dear friend Steve Kantrowitz’s favorite novelist.  The former is an uneven collection of essays comprised of Chabon’s takes on being a husband, father and son.  It does have some moments and is notable both for his efforts, sometimes succesful, to write lyrical endings and his (very) high self-regard.   The latter is a pulpy adventure story that I enjoyed much more.

What Obama Means by Jabari Asim.  This is the second book I’ve read by Asim, editor of The Crisis and a professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.   In this book, which is one of many about the meteoric rise and cultural meaning of our president, Asim blends together references to Sidney Poitier in Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner?, Jay-Z and Barbara Jordan in assessing what Obama has meant to our society and social landscape.

Leave a Reply

